Tehachapi!!

Today we hiked through the wind farm in tehachapi and I experienced 8 miles of the strongest winds I have ever felt. When it was to my back the wind pushed me up the hills and when it was in my face it made leaning in to downhills possible. 

After coming down through the wind farm to highway 58 I resupplied in the town of Mojave only to come back into the ridiculous winds of the Tehachapi valley. I am camped out in a juniper tree that blocks the wind nicely… Well not quite as nicely as I would like, but nicely enough.
 
It was just too windy to safely cook so I had to be creative. My dinner was an amalgamation of flaming hot Cheetos, an avocado, some Idahoan potato flakes, a tuna packet, olive oil and hot sauce. It wasn’t as good as I expected it to be.

Kennedy Meadows and the Sierras are on everyone’s minds. We’ve almost beat the desert!! 

-Luke

 


Leave a comment